Fresh foodie stories, straight from the source

Another Successful Company Conference for Pabulum at Meet 2013

On 21st June Pabulum had the pleasure of hosting our fourth annual company conference at Wokefield Park in Reading. In attendance were head office staff, the operations team, unit managers and chef managers and we had a full agenda for the day bursting with staff achievements, company focus and accomplishments from the past year.

We had our exhibition room in full swing with our largest number of supplier stands ever showcasing their products, our staff enjoyed interacting with the suppliers and seeing new products that could be used in our business. Special thanks go to all the suppliers who attended and supported the event. 

We had some truly inspirational presentations this year highlighting exciting new changes happening in the business, from our new Food Bible to our investment in the Operations Team, September is set to be an exciting and busy month! We also enjoyed a truly inspiring and moving talk from our guest speaker Carrie Herbert, Founder and CEO of our adopted charity Red Balloon.

Of course the main highlight was the conference awards for outstanding members of staff from all across the business; these were presented throughout the day and we highlighted the 3 finalists from each category, as well as the winners, congratulations to one and all:
Chairman’s Award
Winner - Liz Wuestner from Gillotts School

Primary School Chef of the Year
Winner - Moyra Ross, Winterbourne Junior School
Finalists - Karen Docherty, Willowbank Primary School & Daniel Greig, Rockmount Primary

Chef of the Year – Secondary/FE/B&I
Winner - David Leeper, Wiltshire Police in Salisbury
Finalists - David Stephens, Bullers Wood & Ian Bevan, Churchfields Academy

Catering Team of the Year – Primary 
Winner - Lucy O’Brien & Team, Rockmount Primary School
Finalists - Dawn O’Reilly & Team, Pinkwell School and Pauline Thomas & Team, Downsview Primary

Catering Team of the Year – Secondary/FE/B&I 
Winner - June Ware & Team, Ravens Wood School
Finalists - Jo Watkins & Team, Watford Grammar School for Boys and David Graves & Team, St Martins School

Fantastic Support
Winner - Anna Fox, Group Manager
Finalists - Kevin Humphreys, Relief Manager & Graham Sweet, Mobilisation Manager

Outstanding Achievement 
Winner - Linda Thomas, Yate International Academy
Finalists - Marilyn Walker, Oasis Byron & Moyra Ross, Winterbourne Junior School

Environmental Award
Winner - Michelle Lawrence, Howard Primary School 

Finalists - Angela Clark, Northumberland Heath & Cheryl Rogers, Gilbert Scott Primary School 

Best Newcomer
Winner - Ronell Robson, Westminster Kingsway College Catering Manager
Finalists - Slimane Lahlou, William Byrd Primary School & David Colledge, Cottenham Academy

Best Innovation
Winner - Angela Clark, Northumberland Heath Primary School
Finalists - Sally Dorking, Holy Trinity School in Crawley

A special tribute was also made to Steve Spofford, Executive Chef at Worle Community School for his outstanding efforts in the LACA School Chef of the Year competition. Nelson made a speech thanking Steve for his hard work and commending him for winning the South West regional final, Pabulum are extremely proud of Steve’s achievements.

Thank you to all who attended the event and contributed to yet another great year for Pabulum!

Sweet Tweet